Swimming Tasmania Instagram Like Swimming Tasmania on Facebook

Development Squads & Teams

Swimming Tasmania - 15/05/2018

Swimming Tasmania identifies and selects talented swimmers to be part of an advanced development program and to represent Tasmania at interstate competitions.

Image (c) Swimming Australia



Tasmania’s brightest swimming prospects are rewarded for a wonderful past 12 months by being selected on the Swimming Tasmania Development Program.

Selection in the program for the next year provides swimmers and their coaches with the chance to be part of a series of clinics and development opportunities to hear from expert speakers and work with some of Australia’s best coaches. 

This flowchart sets out the new development pathway. Please note that the TID Squad has now been renamed the Talent Squad, to bring it in line with the national framework. For more information about the pathway and selection criteria, please click here.


Full details of the 2018-19 Development Squads are noted below, and we congratulate every swimmer on this achievement.


TALENT SQUAD (formerly TID) 2018-19


Congratulations to the following swimmers who have been invited into the 2018-19 Talent Squad:

Stefanie McCarthy (Hobart Aquatic)

Max Giuliani (Hobart Aquatic)

Mollie Bailey (Hobart Aquatic)






Matilda Smith (Sandy Bay)

Noah Kamprad (Hobart Aquatic)

Sophie Botterill-James (Hobart Aquatic)

Jonty Clues (Hobart Aquatic)

Jet Jankiewicz (Hobart Aquatic)




James Clues (Hobart Aquatic)

Kate Denholm (Hobart Aquatic)

William Bonney(Riverside Aquatic)

Tadhg Waddington (Sandy Bay)

Hugh Dolle (South Esk)





Dawson Howell (Launceston Aquatic)

Ella May (Hobart Aquatic)

Adelaide Skipper (Launceston Aquatic)

Rose Castle (HC Swim Club)

Samuel Askey-Doran (HC Swim Club)

Lauryn Todorovic (Hobart Aquatic)

Michael Boult (HC Swim Club)

Kit DeJonge (South Esk)

Jack Walton (Ulverstone Swim Club)

Emily Mitchell (Launceston Aquatic)

Rebecca Macdonald (HC)

Jonte Adams (South Esk)

Jonty Pretorius (South Esk)

Aurora Giuliani (Hobart Aquatic)

Max Powell (HC)

Taylor Raine (South Esk)

Amelie McCarthy (Hobart Aquatic)

Samuel Cullen (South Esk)

Georgia Woods (Launceston Aquatic)


The Selectors are currently reviewing performances and as result additional swimmers may be added to the Bronze Squad.




Every year Tasmania sends a team of athletes to compete at the National State Teams Champsionships in Canberra. This event is held at the AIS and is a highlight of the competitive swimming calendar.


Selection Criteria


Selection will be based on the needs of the team to ensure maximum potential to score points in each event at the State Teams Championships.

A selection period for athletes to post times will be set: for 2018 this period is May 1 2018 to 12 August 2018.

The three fastest ranked (available) swimmers in the following events, in each of the combined age groups, will be considered (but not guaranteed) for selection, provided that the relevant qualifying times for the Victorian Age Short Course Championships have also been met:

• 50, 100 & 200 backstroke

• 50, 100 & 200 breaststroke

• 50, 100 & 200 butterfly

• 50, 100 & 200 freestyle

• 400 & 800 freestyle - female

• 400 & 1500 freestyle - male

• 200 & 400 individual medleys

Final selection is at the discretion of the State Head Coach, in consultation with the STAS Selection Committee.

To be eligible for selection an athlete must:

• Be a current registered member of Swimming Tasmania

• Compete at the 2018 Tasmanian Age Short Course Championships

• Be eligible to represent Tasmania at this event

• Be aged between 13yrs and 16yrs (female) and 14yrs and 17yrs (male) as at the date of the State Teams Championship

For more information on the selection process please see the attached document.







School Sports Australia Championships 2018 (Hobart 25-31 July 2018) - Tasmanian Team

The SSA Championships will be held at the Doone Kennedy Aquatic Centre in Hobart next year, with teams participating from all Australian States and Territories. Participants must be aged at least 10 years old (but no older than 19) by 31 December 2018.

Congratulations to the following swimmers who have been selected to represent Tasmania at the upcoming Australian School Games in Hobart from 25 to 31 July.


Abbie King
Adelaide Skipper
Amelie McCarthy
Amy Muldoon
Aurora Giuliani
Aviva Ross
Bonnie Smith
Brenna Lemon
Camryn Hawkins
Chantele Raine
Charlotte Pilsbury-Milne
Chelsea Savage
Dawson Howell
Ella Chan
Ella May
Ella Striker
Emily Mitchell
Georgia Woods
Grace Leslie
Grace Mitchell
Holly Cowen
Isabel Kirwan
Isabella Muldoon
Jade Nichols
Jasmine Irani
Kate Denholm
Lacy Kamprad
Lara Pederson
Lauryn Todorovic
Mackenzie French
Maria Kerwin
Matilda Smith
Millie McGregor
Mollie Bailey
Mollie Gray
Myra Donnelly
Natalie McCullagh
Olivia Nichols
Rebecca Clarke
Rebecca Macdonald
Roisin Goodsall
Samantha Richardson
Sienna Palser
Sophie Botterill-James
Sophie Henderson
Sophie Hills
Sophie Kirwan
Stefanie McCarthy
Taylor Raine


Alec Mollison
Blake Stretton
Clancy Vanderkelen
Daniel Shilcock
Daniel Wylie
Edward Watson
Eli Jones
Ethan Jones
Ethan Stretton
Harrison Nichols
Hugh Dolle
Jack Cramp
Jack Luttrell
Jack Walton
Jackson Devine
Jakem Lampkin
James Clues
Jensen Walton
Jet Jankiewicz
John Skipper
Jonathan Clarke
Jonty Clues
Jonty Pretorius
Josh May
Justin Rolle
Kye Direen
Lachlan Clues
Logan Chan
Maximillian Chislett
Maximillian Giuliani
Maxwell Powell
Mitchell Clifford
Noah Kamprad
Noah Wallis
Oliver Atkins
Oliver Baldock
Oliver Lovegrove
Riley Kerr
Rufus Bresnehan
Rupert Gan-Pain
Sam Castle
Tadhg Waddington
William Bonney
William Botterill-James
William Jones
Wylie Howell
Xavier Nesbit

Detailed information in relation to the selection process and the selection standards is available here

Sport Development

Swimming Tasmania is committed to developing all aspects of our sport. We provide a structured athlete development program and pathway, encourage participation at grassroots level, foster an inclusive swimming environment, and provide development opportunities for club administrators, technical officials and coaches to progress and improve.


Read More

Sponsored By